Training 06-01-17

Fundamentals followed by open mat tonight. Fundamental was basic self defense, headlocks and body holds. I worked with one of our newbies who was winded just from drilling the self defense part. I told him to slow down and stop muscling the moves but that fell on deaf ears. 

Open mat was somewhat frustrating as I was able to get positions but then would lose them. On my last roll I tried to lock in a body triangle from the back but as I was attempting to get my feet hooked my opponent was able to catch my leg and cranked a pretty gnarly leg lock. 


Not this leg lock but how awesome would it be to see that in an open mat?

I felt my knee pull apart but luckily there does not appear to be any real damage. It wasn’t intentional just bad timing on my part and an awkward positioning. 

Leave a Reply

