Link: You are Flawed. And So Are Your Heroes

There is a very insightful post from Steve Kamb of NerdFitness posted recently. The post deals with how many of us put our heroes (fictional or non-fictional) on pedestals and don’t see them for the flawed human beings that they are. This is especially true in the age of fitness celebrities and social media. Our view of them is through highly filtered images, with the right pose, makeup, and perfect caption. This is just a snapshot of one moment of their lives and does not represent the whole of their parts. These people have flaws, bad habits, and weaknesses just like us.

superman-kryptonite-lego-970x545

Reading this article reminded me of watching a daytime talk show many years ago (I think I was home sick from school) and their was a celebrity doing a phone interview (Jamie Foxx maybe??). The celebrity sounded awful and the interviewer asked them if they were okay and the celebrity told them and the audience that they were sick and currently on the toilet fighting a massive bout of diarrhea. The celebrity then said…yes even movie stars have diarrhea. For some reason that memory just kind of stuck with me.

I think the most important part of Kamb’s article was the section on Shame vs Guilt.

Whatever has happened to you in the past; whether it was something you did or something that was done to you, please understand the difference between guilt and shame – apply your thoughts to the action, not your identity:

“I ate an entire pizza today and sabotaged my diet this weekend. I am a failure and a waste of space.” = shame. Not healthy.

“I ate an entire pizza today and sabotaged my diet this weekend. I can’t believe I did that. That was stupid of me.” = guilt. Healthy (though still painful).

Guilt can be constructive and uncomfortable, while shame can be destructive and cause us serious damage.

Check out the article in its entirety here:

You are Flawed and So Are Your Heroes

Leave a Reply

