Training 07-19-16


When the world feels like it is turning upside down you can always find comfort on the mats.

Today we worked some guard guard chokes and ended with some positional drilling. 

I been a cop for 10 years now and this year has easily been the most challenging for my profession and for myself. Many good cops are leaving law enforcement and we can’t recruit enough people to fill their places. I don’t blame someone for not wanting to do this job given the current times. 

I have always chosen to see the good in all people because my faith and sanity demand it. As a supervisor I always strive to have positive relationships with everyone I work with and who work for me. 

Yesterday while eating lunch with my coworkers a young lady came up to us and thanked us for doing what we do. Later we found out she paid our tab and left us a kind note. While pumping gas another woman came up to me and with tears in her eyes asked if she could give me a hug to which I gladly obliged. She gave me 2 bottled waters she had purchased inside the store  (1 for me 1 for the dog) and told me to make sure I go home at the end of the night. 

I believe if you project positivity from the inside out it will reflect back on you and likewise if you project hate and darkness that will project back to you as well. The question you ask yourself every day is what do you want to be surrounded by?

So as I trained today I went out of my way to thank the instructor and my training partners for helping me to keep a positive attitude and keeping my mental and physical skills sharp. 

To those that want to do something but don’t know what to do a simple thank you can absolutely make someone’s day. 

Leave a Reply

