You Don’t Have To Be “Good” At Jiu Jitsu To Be Good At Jiu Jitsu

cdwwpanuiaato1h

Great article at Jiu Jitsu Times about why natural talent and ability is not necessary to be succesful at BJJ. I often hear people that have never tried BJJ tell me “when I get in better shape I wanna try that”. I tell them till I’m blue in the face…BJJ is what can get you in better shape, there is no better day to start than today.

“Hard work beats talent when talent doesn’t work hard”

e1c942dbd0c8f00e2e1042d5553e1615

8 thoughts on “You Don’t Have To Be “Good” At Jiu Jitsu To Be Good At Jiu Jitsu

  1. I became a Gracie Survival Tactics Instructor with my police department back in 2012. The officer that brought the Gracies to us is, in my opinion, a straight A badass and has known Rener Gracie for years. I learned so much training with them and fell in love with Jiu Jitsu. I spent most of my time working with guys that were either extremely proficient in Jiu Jitsu or trained in some other form of martial arts and the confidence the training gave me for my professional life and personal life is remarkable. And you could not be any more correct when you say that BJJ is what gets you into shape..it is no joke!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome. My professor was my captain and then left my agency to become chief of police at another. He is a 3rd degree black belt and has trained BJJ since 1995. I haven’t been through Gracie Survival Tactics yer (on my list) but I am the lead DT instructor for our newly hired deputies and have been doing martial arts (tkd, Muay Thai, BJJ, & wrestling) for the last 15 years off an on. It’s always great to hear other LEOs taking the time to train.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Admittedly, it was money that stopped me more than anything from joining up, and the fact that I was carrying too much weight and couldn’t see me actually performing many moves. Then I got to understand more what Jiu Jitsu was, as self-defense, and figured I really needed that. I went to my first class last week. The rationale: paying the fee monthly to train and learn would be cheaper in the long run than a lengthy hospital visit after a beating or funeral arrangements. I’m short and easily picked on, with very little strength. I am determined to change that and at least give myself a chance. Even that one day (of pain) made me want to go back…once my knees were up to it. Tomorrow, though…I already packed my bag.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Money is a factor for a lot of people. Congrats for starting.
      While we all have different motivations for starting and continuing I have never met anyone that regretted doing BJJ. Only those that regretted stopping.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

