Rest Day 02-27-16

  
 My youngest had another tournament today. As always he fought up age due to his weight. He just turned 7 and reguarly competes with 9 year olds and up. This normally means he fails to place but he’s gotten so much better because of it. 

I always remind him of stories like Adam Wheeler. 


He competed at BJJ Tour Florida which was a very well run tournament had enough kids that he was able to compete against kids only a year or two older. His first place match was against a really tough girl with a lot of tournament experience. He lost but fought off two kimura attempts. He ended up with silver in the middle heavy division and I couldn’t be more proud.

  
 He told me that watching me compete and win 2 weeks ago inspired him (not in those words but as eloquent as a 7 year old can be). I told him he had it backwards. It was him who inspires me by wanting to keep competing knowing he was at a disadvantage.  

Leave a Reply

