Assessing Your Fitness Level

  
Men’ Health had an article about what standards they thought men should use to assess their fitness. 

Click here for article 

I don’t agree with all and some are just downright hard to set up logistically…swim 700 yards? I’ve had to go through numerous fitness tests over the years (presidential fitness test, Cooper Standards, etc..).

My personal thoughts on a fitness standard is a bit more simple and good for males and females or really any age. 

1) run a 5k in under 30 minutes at any given time

2) bench press 1.5x your own body weight

3) deadlift 2x your body weight 

I try to make sure no matter what my focus is that I can achieve all 3 of those things and every so often I’ll go out and test myself to be sure. 

I’m curious as to how others personally test their fitness standards. 

2 thoughts on “Assessing Your Fitness Level

  1. I believe a fitness test should be suited to what you want your body to be able to do. We all train for different goals, some actively compromise their health in order to reach an aesthetic goal (no judgement, just a reflection of the diversity of purpose with which people hit the gym), so whatever’s right for you might not be right for the person next to you. Equally, what’s right for you now might not be right next year.

    When I was attending regular Jiu Jitsu classes I did a lot of strength training, sprints and core work when off the mats. Some of my yardsticks were a 2.4km run, max bench, and my performance when rolling. Yes, technique is the most important component, but all the technique in the world won’t stop you melting into the cracks between the mats if you’re unfit.

    Right now, at 36, I am training to alter my body composition. My focus is not weight, but time under tension, which means sometimes, in the space where previously I may have tried to increase my 1RM I am now going for controlled reps with lower weights. The only test I am concerning myself with here is my body composition, no performance goals at all.

    Favourites, though, include the 2.4k. One minute pushup. Prone hold. Max bench, and max chinup.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

