Workout 09-03-2015

fitspo

Another day at the range meant another circuit training session in the mat room and a light rolling session to follow. My co-worker that I worked out with let me pick the circuit. I chose to do a bodyweight circuit utilizing BJJ/MMA movements and drills. My coworker is a guy that was in great shape, gained a lot of weight, and then got back into shape over the course of a few years. I thought about what myself, him, and others did differently to make positive changes. When I thought about it, the thing that continued to come up was consistency. I looked at the fit people around me and noticed that they had different kinds of workouts, eating plans, and philosophies but what was common among all of them was that they did those things consistently. When trying to get fit/cut weight/add muscle doing what you need to do isn’t difficult. Doing what you need to do consistently is. My advice is to figure out what it is you need to do to get where you want to be. Then remove the obstacle that prevent you from doing those things in your life one at a time.

Workout

2 rounds – 1 minute work, 20 seconds rest

Alligator Walk
Walking Lunges
Bear Crawl
Front Roll into Pistol Squat
Sit Outs

Closed with a few rounds of grappling.

For those unfamiliar with some of the workouts here are some examples. Even if your not into BJJ or MMA these movements will help with your strength and flexibility (particularly in your hip flexors and shoulders)

Alligator Walk

Walking Lunges

Bear Crawl

Front Roll into Pistol Squat (watch at about 6:24 – video should start at that point)

Sit Outs

2 thoughts on “Workout 09-03-2015

  1. I couldn’t agree more! Consistency brings the results. When your exercise routine becomes a habit, it’s also so much easier to follow. You don’t need to think about it. Even when you’re tired, you just go to the gym and do it. And if you start off like crazy, most people burn out and quit at some point.
    P.S. You just presented half of my all-time favorite oh-my-god-I-hate-this-I’m-gonna-die drills 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

