“Health Assesment”

BMI_zps3fb220a6

Had my annual “Health Assessment” this morning. Basically I am required to complete a blood screening, weigh in, and answer a computerized survey based on my findings to determine my level of health. Not surprisingly I was told I was in the “obese” range once again. A BMI of 31 was my score this year. My thoughts on weight as an indicator of health were pretty much summed up here. To use BMI as your only indicator of health would mean to ignore muscle mass, activity level, and all other factors that make up a healthy lifestyle. What was surprising was my cholesterol level was the lowest it’s been since I was around 16. My family has a history of high cholesterol and a few years ago I was out of shape, eating poorly, and full of reasons why I wasn’t working out anymore. I was in my mid 20s and should have been in the best shape of my life. In many ways I squandered my 20s (which should have been the best physical years of my life) on beer, pizza, and excuses. I remember getting a cholesterol reading of 230 which is very high, especially for a young person. That was one of the things that made me start to research eating better and moving more.

One thought on ““Health Assesment”

Leave a Reply

