Workout 08-14-15

BJJ tonight was rough for me. I’ve had a cough for over a month (second doctor visit pending) and it’s been causing my asthma to flare up. Needless to say that in addition to the 2 week layoff has affected my conditioning. After practice instead of going our and rolling a few more rounds with the guys I took to the mat to play with my kids. Some grappling and some fun drills. One of the drills I did is called crazy horse and involves having one of the boys get on my back, wrap their arms around my neck and get their hooks in and try to hang on while I buck, spin, and generally make it a crazy ride. They love playing that game and the best part is that it’s a great drill for teaching them how to take and remain in back mount. My youngest son is completely in love with all things BJJ and MMA. The beginning of the post shows him getting me in an arm bar and here is how excited he gets after I “tap out”.

IMG_7340.PNG

3 thoughts on “Workout 08-14-15

  1. Too bad to hear your asthma’s acting up! Are on any asthma inhalers right now? Usually taking a double dose or starting a corticosteroid inhaler for 2-6 weeks and taking beeta-agonist inhaler before workouts has helped this training doc.
    I don’t know about BJJ warmups, but with all martial arts I’ve done they are so intense that it can be really brutal to your lungs. I’ve found it helps me if I gradually warm up for 15-20 mins before training so my lungs have time to “get used to” the heavier exercise. I can’t simply start running and doing light sparring from complete resting state if I don’t want to suffocate. Hope you’ll feel better soon!

    Like

    • No I honestly haven’t been to a primary care doctor in a while. I was prescribed an inhaler years ago but I have never had an asthma attack or issue with it except for when I was running a lot (10+ miles). My problem is I’m having a chronic cough and can feel my breathing is restricted either because of it or vice versa. And +1 on the proper warm up comment. I’m not as young as I used to be!

      Like

Leave a Reply

