Crockpot Chili

IMG_7320.JPG

3x a week I go to BJJ class at night. Normally I head straight there from work and the class ends anywhere between 8:30pm – 10:00pm depending on how long I stay after to roll a few rounds. Normally I just have a protein shake when I get home, shower, and then attempt to go to sleep. The other day I knew I was heading into a 24 hour work shift the next day and so after my shower and shake I decided to prepare for the next day by getting my lunch and subsequent dinner started. The crockpot is one of my favorite ways to cook because it is truly a set and forget method.

One of my favorite foods to cook in the crockpot is chili. It’s easy, it’s extremely customizable, and there are always plenty of leftovers. Every time I make it it is a little different. I love spicy foods and spicy chili. My wife and kids not so much. I made this one with very little heat so that they could enjoy it.

Easy Crockpot Chili
(Makes 8 servings)

Nutrition Facts according to Myfitnesspal:

IMG_7339.PNG

Ingredients –

1-2lbs of ground meat (Beef, Turkey, Chicken….etc – for this recipe I used some ground bison)
1 diced onion
3-8 cloves of garlic diced (or more if your like me)
2 bell peppers
2 cans diced tomatoes
1 8oz can tomato paste
1 can black beans (optional – or replace with pinto/chili/etc..)
2 tablespoons of chili powder
2 teaspoons of ground cumin
2 teaspoons of dried oregano
2 teaspoons of garlic salt (or regular salt)
1 tablespoon of onion powder
1 teaspoon of black pepper

Normally, I like to add a couple diced jalapeno or habanero peppers, some cayenne pepper, ground korean hot peppers, and some sriracha to mine but obviously even one of those would have been too much for the family to handle. The best part is you can throw in really anything you like and any amount for the most part. I’ve made this with diced tomatoes, no beans, corn, ground turkey, ground chicken, grassfed beef, and all kinds of other variations and they all turned out delicious.

Step 1.

I like to add a teaspoon or so of coconut oil to a pan and saute the onions and garlic until they start to become aromatic (they smell good) and brown a little.

Step 2.

Add the ground meat of your choice. For this night I used some ground bison that I defrosted the night before. Brown the meat until cooked and drain the fat and leftover oil. Place the meat into your crockpot.

Step 3.

Chop up your peppers and any other vegetables you might be adding into the chili. I personally like large chunks of bell peppers in my chili so I cut these up rather large. When done add these into your crock pot with your meat.

Step 4. 

Add in your canned ingredients. Once you add in the tomato paste fill the 8oz can with water and dump the water into the crock pot. If you like a thicker chili you can go with a half can.

Step 5.

Add the chili powder, pepper, cumin, garlic salt, onion powder, oregano, and any other spices into the crockpot and then mix all the ingredients together. Set your crockpot on low and then forget about it for a minimum of 4 hours. I feel like 6 hours is the sweet spot though. For this night I just set it and went to bed. When I woke up in the morning the whole kitchen and living smelled of chili and everything was perfect. I just spooned some into some tupperware containers and put the rest in the fridge for the family to eat.

Personally I like to eat mine with a couple spoonfuls of diced raw onion and some white rice mixed in. Everyone likes their chili a little different though so feel free to experiment!

images (1)

Leave a Reply

