Meal Prep

I try to meal prep my lunches for the week since that is normally my biggest meal of the day. There are many nights when I get home from BJJ and I don’t have the energy to consume a meal. All I want to do is shower and sleep. On these nights a protein and recovery drink are normally my go to dinners. Other nights I cook a fresh dinner to sit down and eat with the family.

For lunches I try to keep two things in mind. 1) limit the amount of containers I have to carry and 2) make sure I have a decent mix of protein and good carbs.

IMG_6883

IMG_6882

This week was simple:

Baked Sweet Potato – Spicy Green Beans – Grilled Chicken Breast

or

Baked Sweet Potato – Spicy Green Beans / Cut Green & Yellow Bell Peppers – Baked Tilapia

Surprisingly these were very easy to cook.

First the potatoes were baked – very simple instructions

Baked Sweet Potato

-Wash potatoes
-Pierce potatoes a couple times with a fork
-Place potatoes directly on upper oven rack and place a sheet of aluminum foil on rack underneath to catch drippings
-Bake at 425 degrees for about 45 minutes. After 45 minutes turn oven off and leave in heat for 15-20 minutes

The Spicy Green Beans Recipe can be found here

IMG_6876

For the Tilapia I purchased frozen fillets from my local grocery store and put them in the fridge for 24 hours to thaw out.

Baked Tilapia

-Line baking sheet with foil (optional but highly recommended) and spray with non stick spray
-Place fillets on sheet/foil

IMG_6878
-Season fillets with seasoning of choice. For this bake I did fillets with different seasoning to get some variety Mrs. Dash Garlic & Herb, Louisiana Cajun Seasoning, and Everglades Seasoning
-Bake in oven at 400 degrees for about 12 minutes or until done. (If your fillets are still a bit frozen this may take longer). Be careful not to overcook as you will most likely store and then microwave them later.

IMG_6879

I try to mix in veggies/carb/and a protein with every meal. For the grilled chicken I actually found some pre-cooked Tyson chicken breasts in the back of the freezer. I threw those in the tupperware and put them in the fridge. By the time they thaw out I’ll be ready to take them to work.

One thought on “Meal Prep

Leave a Reply

