Lunch Workout

Last night’s BJJ class was a real killer. Drilled some attacks from closed guard position and then 5 rounds of 5 minute grappling starting in various positions. Needless to say, getting to the gym before work today wasn’t happening. I was fortunate to be able to get down to the gym before the lunch rush.

Strength Workout

Bench Press (5 sets, 10-5 reps increasing weight)
Pec Fly Machine (5 sets, 10 reps)
Iso-Lateral Incline Press (5 sets, 10 reps)

Circuit (4 Rounds w/1 min rest between rounds)

Ippon Seoi Nage Drill (10 times left and right)
-Thread a belt around a freestanding heavy bag. grabbing the ends of the belt practice the step and pull the belt over your shoulder as if it were an opponents arms. If done right the base will slightly lift off the ground.
Medicine Ball Situps (20 reps)
-Holding a large medicine ball at your chest do a situp while throwing the ball into the air above your body. Catch the ball and then go down. Skip to 2:40 in this video for a visual explanation.
Walking Overhead Lunge (7 reps stepping with each leg)
-Holding a 45lb plate over your head with shoulders locked, perform 7 lunges with each leg
Jump Rope (1 minute)
-Self explanatory I hope. I’m not good enough to do double unders for any significant amount of time so just normal singles for me
Grip (1 minutes)
-Hold 2-10lb bumper plates in each hand down be your sides. The plates should be pinches between your fingers and thumb. Hold for 1 minute or for 2-30 second holds.

The circuit was made up in my head as I was doing my chest workout. I think it is functional for BJJ/MMA related work. I can say that afterwards I certainly felt like I got a decent workout.

Leave a Reply

